Friday, December 9, 2016

Reviews From Oh My Bookness: Return Of The Dragon Riders by Kristin Alva (English Format)

Return Of The Dragon Riders
Kristin Alva 

  • Publication date: December 25, 2013
  • Publisher: Defiant Press
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005ZMTZYA



Book Description: 

The evil emperor Vosper gathers his troops in the east, poised to conquer the entire continent. His target is the rebel city of Parthos, a constant thorn in his side, and the last sanctuary of the Dragon Riders.Besieged from all sides, the remaining Dragon Riders come out of hiding. Forced to fight for their lives, they leave the safety of the desert, traveling across the land to gather intelligence and shore up forgotten alliances.At the center of it all is Elias Dorgumir, the key to an ancient prophesy, and Vosper will do anything to get his hands on him. 

Is it too late for the Dragon Riders to save Elias and stop Vosper from destroying the only refuge they have left?


Book Review:
Return Of The Dragon Riders (The Dragon Stone Saga  2)
Author: Kristin Alva
Review By: Brittany Perez (Oh My Bookness)
@ohmybookness
December 9,2016


Return of the Dragon Riders by Kristin Alva continues from the first book, Dragon Stones: Book One of the Dragon Stone Saga. Return of the Dragon Riders is filled with action, adventure, magic, and mythical creatures. We meet familiar characters such as Elias and Thorin who are inseparable and are still being chased by the evil Vosper and those of them that follow in his wake. As we progress through the book we meet new characters, some quirky and fun while others have a more seriousness to them.

This story is a bit more graphic than the first. I think in this second book the author gives better description of the surroundings, the characters, the conflicts, I think the storyline and the detailing has evolved from the first to second book. I enjoy it more with suspense and wonder at the turn of the page. The intense feeling of not knowing who would be the traitor if there was going to be one. Elias is just like any teenager who wishes for his life back but we find out what it means to choose what we want and what really needs to be done.

I think Return of the Dragon Riders has grown not only with new characters and old characters. It also it gives some growinglife lessons to learn from. I enjoyed this story and I’m looking forward to the next saga, I think this is a great book for young readers.

Review also in spanish:
regreso de los jinetes de dragón por Kristian Alva


About The Author



Kristian Alva was born into a family of writers and teachers. She worked as a staff writer and a ghostwriter before publishing her own manuscripts. She released her first book in 2007. She currently lives in California with her family. When she’s not writing, she enjoys reading all genres, especially epic fantasy.

Web:
http://www.kristianalva.com

Purchase Book-
Amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/Return-Dragon-Riders-Book-Stone/dp/1937361039

Follow Oh My Bookness©

Facebook
Google +
https://plus.google. tcom/app/basic/116396686801399504580
Pinterest
Blog
Instagram:
/http://instagram.com/oh_my_bookness.book_blogger
Tumblr
Oh My Bookness
 https://ohmybooknessblog.tumblr.com/
LinkedIn 
https://www.linkedin.com/in/designwonde
Goodreads
https://wwww.goodreads.com/ohmybookness
Twitter:
@ohmybookness


©Published 27th September  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.

©Britany Perez and Oh My Bookness September 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Book Review from Oh My Bookness: Vospers Revenge by Kristin Alva (English Format)

Vospers Revenge
Kristin Alva

  • Publication date: November 18, 2013
  • Publisher: Defiant Press
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0088JFJYW



Book Description:
Vosper's Revenge is the final book in Kristian Alva's popular "Dragon Stone" trilogy. 

As the races of Durn stand on the brink of war, the power-hungry emperor plans his conquest of the entire continent. 

The dragon riders are fragmented. They have been scattered across the land; weakened by the discovery of a traitor in their own ranks. Are the riders strong enough to defeat Vosper before he destroys them all? 



Book Review:
Vospers Revenge (The Dragon Stone Saga  3)
Author: Kristin Alva
Review By: Brittany Perez (Oh My Bookness)
@ohmybookness
December 9,2016

Vosper’s Revenge: by Kristian Alva
Vosper’s Revenge is book three in Kristin Alvas popular YA Fiction trilogy "Dragon Stones". Each book in this world full of magic,dragons, sorcery, and adventure have all been a treat to read. The series only got better as it progressed and this
book is no different.

Vosper’s Revenge has action,defiance, necromancy, betrayal, greed and the best of all dragons. Who doesn't like dragons? Especially in a war. Who do you think will come out in top? To add to the field of chaos in this entertaining tale, there are elves, dwarves and orcs, who of course don't get along.

Elias finally gets to learn about his dragon as well as to continue his learning about magic and spells. This book is great for young middle grade readers as well as high school. This book is also good for anyone who enjoys the world of fantasy, magic, action,adventure, and war. As the book progresses we come across a evil villain who wants to take over the world (a story as old as time but when spun right it doesn't seem over spun or old at all). With a good adventure comes a learning experience. Kristian Alva brings it into this reading that brings your imagination to its fullest. It teaches the reader about teamwork and that sometimes you have to be the bigger person in order to make things right for the better good.

This book has all the magic that Harry Potter can conjure up, but like him there's always others to help Elias make his destiny easier to face. I recommend anyone who dares to enter an adventure that'll suck you in to danger, and an evil king who will destroy anyone and anything that'll stand in his way


About The Author


Kristian Alva was born into a family of writers and teachers. She worked as a staff writer and a ghostwriter before publishing her own manuscripts. She released her first book in 2007. She currently lives in California with her family. When she’s not writing, she enjoys reading all genres, especially epic fantasy.

Web:
http://www.kristianalva.com

Purchase Book-
Amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/Vospers-Revenge-Three-Dragon-Stone-ebook/dp/B0088JFJYW

Follow Oh My Bookness©



Facebook
Google +
https://plus.google. tcom/app/basic/116396686801399504580
Pinterest
Blog
Instagram:
/http://instagram.com/oh_my_bookness.book_blogger
Tumblr
Oh My Bookness
 https://ohmybooknessblog.tumblr.com/
LinkedIn 
https://www.linkedin.com/in/designwonde
Goodreads
https://wwww.goodreads.com/ohmybookness
Twitter:
@ohmybookness


©Published 27th September  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.

©Britany Perez and Oh My Bookness September 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Bookreview from Oh My Bookness of Beyond the Lines (Kids Like You Book 2) By Claudia Whitsitt

Beyond the Lines (Kids Like You Book 2)
By Claudia Whitsitt


  • Publication date: March 15, 2016
  • Publisher: Claudia Whitsitt
  • ASIN: B01BLSIM4K

Length: 260 pages

Grade Level: 4 - 8

Age Range: 8-18






Book Description:

The Dream Girls—Hattie, Crackers, and Beverly Jo—are back with the same determination and resolve they displayed in Between the Lines. After Hattie suffers a devastating injury, she needs a reason to go on. Her dreams are shattered, but Crackers holds onto her own dream with grit and focused purpose. With Hattie and Beverly Jo at her side, she is unwavering--her vision will become a reality. 

Crackers has oodles of talent, can outshoot any guy, and she wants to be the first girl on the boys' basketball team. Everybody knows she's the best player at school. 

The problem is, the rules say: No girls allowed on the team. Ever. 
But the Dream Girls have challenged old-fashioned notions before, and they're not about to give up now. Beverly Jo rocks the world with an ingenious plan, Hattie sets the wheels in motion, and Crackers gives her all. For this threesome, nothing is impossible.

Book Review:
Beyond The Lines (Kids Like You Book 2)
Author: Claudia Whitsitt
Review By: Brittany Perez 
(Oh My Bookness)
@ohmybookness
September 27, 2016



There back, the self proclaimed Dream Girls. Resolve un-wavering, Taking place in 1960s Detroit, Hattie, Beverly, and Crackers learn that discrimination surpasses the color barrier. Discrimination is more than the color of your skin, the three friends learn also about gender discrimination. 

The story is full of adventure and shows that there is no bond stronger than true friendship's. These three friends stand by eachother through the good, the bad, the toughest of times to the fun times. This book gives  a brief look into the era, the time of the 60's. The book also show cases strong friendships and standing up for what you believe in as well as the right to be treated as equals.

This is a wonderful book to be read by middle school aged youth and even high school age. This book showcases the strenghth of an individual and the right to fight for your rights. Also showcases standing up for what you believe in and shows that discrimination happens in many forms. And as we follow these three friends we see the best way to combat discrimination is standing strong and not letting anyone making you feel less than you are.

About The Author:


Growing up in Detroit, I was always concerned about differences and wanted life to be fair. I’m not sure if I was born this way or if my upbringing rooted this belief in me, but t didn’t take long for me to learn that life is anything but fair. Still, I made it my personal mission to try and help people settle their differences in an equitable manner, and be kind to everyone, no matter how different they were from me. When the Detroit riots started on my fifteenth birthday, like Hattie, I was devastated. But the riots also cemented this sense of wonder in me. Why couldn’t all people get along? Crackers, Beverly, and I met in college, and when I came to write a novel for my students, I couldn’t think of a better place to begin than with a story inspired by our true friendship, one that has lasted for over forty years. Some people would call me naïve, I suppose, but I firmly believe that with the right education, much like Jane Elliot’s diversity training, we could learn to celebrate differences and live together in peace. I’m sure that my sense of fairness, my fascination with learning more about how all of us negotiate the world, and my desire to make a difference led me to teaching and to the field of special education. Writing Between the Lines was a somewhat selfish endeavor for me. Now I can spend more time back in the classroom, where my heart belongs. 


Follow Oh My Bookness©




Facebook
Google +
https://plus.google. tcom/app/basic/116396686801399504580
Pinterest
Blog
Instagram:
/http://instagram.com/oh_my_bookness.book_blogger
Tumblr
Oh My Bookness
 https://ohmybooknessblog.tumblr.com/
LinkedIn 
https://www.linkedin.com/in/designwonde
Goodreads
https://wwww.goodreads.com/ohmybookness
Twitter:
@ohmybookness


©Published 27th September  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.

©Britany Perez and Oh My Bookness September 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.




Friday, September 9, 2016

Bookreview from Oh My Bookness The Case Of The Starry Night (The Amulet Of Amser Book 2) By Yvonne Jones

The Case Of The Starry Night (The Amulet Of Amser Book 2)
By Yvonne Jones

Book Length: 44 pgs.
Age Level: 7-12
Grade Level: 2-6
ISBN: 0997025425


Book Description:

AGES 7-12, A Middle-Grade Chapter Book Series 

Wen Amser’s family has a secret. A secret that has been kept for centuries. Wen is destined by his family’s ancient oath to forever protect the world’s most precious pieces of art for all of mankind. 

With the help of an ancient amulet and a magic spell, Wen finds himself and his grandfather’s trusty terrier, Minty, on board a rumbling train near Paris in the year 1889. There, Wen must keep Vincent van Gogh’s most famous painting out of the hands of a group of bandits. But he soon discovers that the bandits are not the only ones trying to get their hands on the treasured cargo. Will Wen be able to save the piece of art, or will van Gogh’s masterpiece be lost forever? 

More THE AMULET OF AMSER books: 
"The Case Of The Mona Lisa" 
"The Case Of The Venus Di Milo" 

To learn more and to watch the BOOK TRAILER, visit www.Yvonne-Jones.com


Book Review:
The Case Of The Starry Night (The Amulet Of Amser Book 2)
Author: Yvonne  Jones
Review By: Brittany Perez 
(Oh My Bookness)
@ohmybookness
September 9, 2016

Let me take you a journey of art, artifacts and magic.
Now just sit back, relax and enjoy the magical reviewing ride…..

Welcome to my magical journey through The Case Of THE Starry Knight ( The Amulet Of Amser Book 2)
Being a kid is tough enough but what if you were tasked to go back in time….

WAIT!

My apologies, it’s just so exciting to think about, I mean WHAT IF and I mean WHAT IF you my good Sir/Lady were tasked to retrieve a famous piece of art that went missing, that was stolen and in due process change the present….the FUTURE!

(OMB has to say: Every Movie I Have Ever Seen Says THIS IS A BAD IDEA! Duhhh 👀).

I KNOW, RIGHT!?

We haven’t even gotten to just what your retrieving, rescuing, and why it’s so important and why this mission must be completed with utmost certainty.

Would you, YES YOU! Whom else do you think I’m talking to? Ok, Ok…Apology excepted. Now no more interruptions, we must get on with the magical reviewing ride.

Now would you go back in time to retrieve…
Ba-bum-dum,
Would you go back in time if I told you, you were going to retrieve a painting done by the greatest Dutch Painter after Rembrandt. A Post – Impressionist painter, who laid the foundation for modern art.
Ba-bum-dum
Vincent Van Gogh!
To retrieve his most famous painting “Starry Night”!

(OMB has to say: Well, Ok,oK, maybe for Vincent Van Gogh’s “Starry Night”).

You know something, this book is actually pretty good!
Following Wen a very curious and adventurous young boy all the way back to 1884.
With a secret as big As the Amber family’s really is, I’m surprised they were able to keep it from him as long as they did. When you are tasked to protect the WORLD’S most PRECIOUS pieces of ART! That is a big deal! No, it’s a huge deal!

How is Wen and Minty going to do it. Are they going to do it? Will they be able to retrieve and rescue Starry Night before it is to late? Or even keep it out of the wanting hands.

It may not be a long read but it is a exciting read full of magic, adventure, blended with art history. We get to learn a little about Vincent Van Gogh and his work. In between chapters is beautifully done artwork. It is a story you will want of read again and again.




About The Author:



Yvonne Jones loves children's books. Picture books, rhythmic books, fairytales, chapter books… She just loves them all. Good thing too, as her little ones love to read with her.
Yvonne was born in former East Germany to a German mother and a Vietnamese father. Thus, she spent an inordinate amount of her youth nosing through books that she shouldn’t have been reading, and watching movies that she shouldn’t have been watching. It was a good childhood.

She currently lives on the East Coast with her husband and their two sons. In theory, she is working on her next children’s book. In reality, she is probably being tickled or busy pretend-playing with her little ones. She can be found online at www.Yvonne-Jones.com.
Follow Oh My Bookness ©




Facebook
Google +
https://plus.google. tcom/app/basic/116396686801399504580
Pinterest
Blog
Instagram:
/http://instagram.com/oh_my_bookness.book_blogger
Tumblr
Oh My Bookness
 https://ohmybooknessblog.tumblr.com/
LinkedIn 
https://www.linkedin.com/in/designwonde
Goodreads 
https://wwww.goodread5s.com/ohmybookness
Twitter:
@ohmybookness



©Published 9th September  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.

©Brittany Perez and Oh My Bookness 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Check Out This Week's Festured Post!

Book Review From Oh My Bookness: The Magician's Workshop Volume Two By Hansen • Fehr

The  Magician's Workshop Volume Two By Hansen • Fehr Book Description: Return to the world of The Magician’s Wo...